Getting to Know Tenerife’s Municipalities, Icod de los Vinos to Vilaflor

Fri, November 15th, 2013 - By Jack Montgomery

In the second part of our quide to the municipalities on Tenerife we cover the biggest, smallest and the one with the gruesome name.

Icod de los Vinos
Familiar with visitors thanks to the Millennium Drago tree, Icod de los Vinos in the north is also known for its wines.

La Guancha
North Tenerife’s often overlooked municipality is another agricultural area which is easy on the eye rather than having any outstanding qualities.

La Laguna
The former capital is a bustling modern city with a perfectly preserved old centre that is a UNESCO World Heritage Site. In summer Laguneros decamp to their coast at Punta de Hidalgo and Bajamar.


La Laguna, Tenerife

La Matanza
The northern borough where Spanish conquistadors were given a right thrashing which is why the area is called ‘the Massacre’. Now life is much more tranquil.

La Orotava
Not only does La Orotava have the island’s classiest town, it is the municipality in which Mount Teide is located.

La Victoria
Remember the conquistadors at La Matanza? They came back with more soldiers and the result  gave the neighbouring municipality its name.

Los Realejos
Fabulous northern location with the Tigaiga Mountain range towering above the main town whilst the coast offers some of the most exotic views on Tenerife.


Coastline, Los Realejos, Tenerife

Los Silos
Just poking its head above the tourist parapet, Los Silos in the north west has a lovely town centre and a coastline with a whale sculpture.

Puerto de la Cruz
Puerto de la Cruz is the smallest municipality on the island and mainly consists of the main tourist resort in the north.

San Juan de la Rambla
A pretty little borough which, like many northern municipalities, has been somewhat forgotten about since the growth of mass tourism.


San Juan de la Rambla, Tenerife

San Miguel de Abona
The name of the southern municipality is also the name of the main town in the hills. Some have confusingly started referring to the main resort, Golf del Sur, as San Miguel. Recently this has morphed into Costa San Miguel which holds a wider appeal than Golf del Sur.

Santa Cruz de Tenerife
The capital city and name of the province that includes La Gomera, La Palma and El Hierro, Santa Cruz is also home to some of the most remote parts of the island as well as the most beautiful beach at Las Teresitas.

Santa Ursula
Santa Ursula has a hotel on its coast which is miles away (in terms of personality) from the vibe in the main town. It’s a good municipality for anyone into wine and good food.

Santiago del Teide
With Los Gigantes, Puerto Santiago and most of Playa de la Arena on the coast and lovely Santiago del Teide in the hills, the municipality offers a nice balance between rural life and a typical beach scene.


Church, Santiago del Teide, Tenerife

Bustling, historic, home to most of the island’s the best red wines and some of the best restaurants, Tacoronte hosted more visitors 150 years ago than it does now.

One of three landlocked municipalities on Tenerife, Tegueste is surrounded by La Laguna and is another great wine growing region with a pretty main town.

Claimed to be Spain’s highest municipality Vilafor is the south of Tenerife’s version of an Alpine town – all pine forests and log fires in restaurants. Very different from anything on the coast.

Read part 1 of getting to know Tenerife’s municipalities – Adeje to Guimar

Posted : Friday, November 15th, 2013 at 4:07 pm
Category : about tenerife
Subscribe : RSS 2.0

One Response to “Getting to Know Tenerife’s Municipalities, Icod de los Vinos to Vilaflor”

  1. […] Part 2: Icod de los Vinos to Vilaflor Share Tweet Posted : Wednesday, November 6th, 2013 at 10:04 am Category : about tenerife Subscribe : RSS 2.0 […]

Leave a Reply